Frequently Asked Questions
Got a question? A problem with the rules? A bar bet to settle? Send
me an email. If it's not covered clearly by the rules, I'll post the
When exiting the pit, which exits can I use?
What if there is no one to ram when I play a ram card?
New: Do I have
to reduce speed when I take damage on turns that I Turbo?
When you're drawing hazard cards and you slow down
as a result, do you draw fewer cards?
What happens when (for example) a car that was going
100 m.p.h., moves 10 squares and is then forced to brake because of a
hazard card or glue chip? Does the car need to move back?
How many times may I change lanes during my turn?
New: Do you draw
Hazard Cards for each square that your car moves through over the safe
speed, or do you just draw cards when you enter a curve?
New: Why can't
I play the Ram card when I'm in front? It often means I can't win the
race when I'm in the lead on the last turn.
When I exit the pit, which exits
can I use?
must exit the pit in either of the two exits opposite the the entrance
that you entered it. When using the Basic Rules, you may only enter
and exit using the entrance and exit pictured above.
What happens when I play the ram
action card, but there is nobody around to ram? The rules state that I
can only play the card when there is an eligible target.
At the beginning of a round, you may play the ram card if you are able
to reach an eligible target at your current speed. On your turn however,
if your target also played the ram card, he may move out of range -
potentially leaving you with no one to ram. If this happens, just move
normally. There is no penalty.
Do I have to reduce speed
when I take damage on turns that I Turbo?
Since you ignore your maximum speed on turns that you turbo, you never
need to slow down -- even when taking massive amounts of damage -- on
turns that you turbo. Simply move the red (maximum speed) pawn down,
but leave the silver (current speed) pawn where it is.
Sometimes when taking damage from
hazard cards I end up slowing down, either by braking or by taking damage.
Do I reduce the number of hazard cards that I need to take in these situations?
No. Calculate the total number of cards you'll need to draw when you
enter the curve and apply all of them, one at a time, regardless of
the effects. It may help to pull the total number of cards off the deck
first. The only exception to this is the supreme control card which
lets you to immediately discard any remaining hazard cards that you
have not yet applied to your car.
What happens when (for example)
a car that was going 100 m.p.h. moves 10 squares and is then forced to
brake because of a hazard card or glue chip? Does the car need to move
back since it could not end up making it that far down the track at the
No. Braking caused by hazard cards and glue does limit the final speed
of the car (and thereby the total number of squares moved on the turn),
but braking should never cause a car to back up. In these cases, simply
leave the car in the square where it encountered the final hazard or
How many times may I change lanes
during my turn?
You many change lanes as often as you wish. Changing lanes many times
on one turn can be a good way to use up extra movement before a sharp
Do you draw Hazard Cards for each
square that your car moves through over the safe speed, or do you just
draw cards when you enter a curve?
Hazard Cards are drawn when you enter a curve over the safe speed.
Once these cards are drawn, you need not draw any additional hazard
cards unless you: 1) accelerate when in the curve or 2) move in a lane
when in the curve. (See Curves.)
Why can't I play the Ram card
when I'm in front? It often means that I can't win the race when I'm in
the lead on the last turn.
The order of play was designed to keep everyone in the race until the
bitter end. You may want to try the Alternate
Winning Conditions (an optional rule) for a more 'realistic' endgame.